Today, I’m tired…

It was a long day at work. I often feel like I really am just doing it for the money. I’ve worked in non-profit for over 10 years now. And I am feeling worn out. I’ve written a play about my work. I’ve met great people. But it’s time to move on. Focus on my writing. Do the rewrites on my play. Take a workshop. Think of myself as a writer and act like one. Not just someone who writes a play every three years but someone who is constantly working on the next one. Using the sights and sounds of Los Angeles to create something for the stage. Recalling family stories and experiences to tell a tale. I’m hoping to keep myself honest with this blog. I will share everything here about the process of rewriting a play…cutting, editing, re-imagining, research and the fears and inner struggle that comes with sharing your work with the world. The play I am working on is about family. It’s been hard to write about them. But it’s time to tell the story. It’s time to push it forward and make it happen. I’ll also share information about the playwrights that inspire me, theater in Los Angeles and the performance process. The play is called In the time of the Rosalila and it chronicles the struggle of five Honduran women coming understanding the differences in the way they have adapted to life in the U.S. Family secrets are unearth and discoveries are made on a rainy night in LA.

