Potholes

LA is in the middle of several storms. Potholes abound. The problem is that these potholes were already there before the rains came. You’re driving down the street trying to get to a meeting or a play or wherever city life takes you and zas! You’re jarred out of your Jack 93.1 FM, rock n roll  reverie  by the deepest pothole your car has ever driven over. Instantly, your hands tighten on the steering wheel, and you clench your teeth and feel your car hate you.  The rains make the potholes bigger and bigger and suddenly you find yourself zigzagging on the road to avoid them.

I ran over a few potholes with my writing this week.  They jarred me out of my zone!  It was supposed to be a good weekend for writing. The first three day weekend of the year! But nothing came. I was supposed to run eleven  miles on Saturday morning but I hurt my achilles sometime last week and although my alarm went off at 6 am so that I could be in Venice for my weekly run…the snooze button won over and I pulled the covers over my head and went back to sleep. By noon I was feeling pretty low. I should have run! And then I was late to my writing group. I hate when I’m late. It makes me feel discombobulated. But the group was good. I met with three fantastic women who are all writers and all have a distinct voice. You can find a link to their blogs in the link section of this blog.

Ramona is awesome.  I like her sense of humor and she makes observations about people and pop culture that I would never even think of. She had us read an essay about how she wanted to hang out with Darth Vader when she was a girl. She even cheered for him during his light saber fight, which of course he won. I like Darth Vader too. I’ve always thought he has a sexy voice.

Gaby read us a couple of her journal entries. She’s pregnant with her first child and she wanted to document the pregnancy. She wants to eventually publish the entries in a book. She wrote about how much she feared the whole process of pregnancy, starting from the very decision to get pregnant to the changes her body will be undergoing.  Her writing is very honest and soothing. There was a sense of calm in her pieces even though she was writing about anxiety and fears.

Xochitl’s essay started with a confession I loved. She watches reality shows. She writes that she thinks she should be watching the BBC or something much more intelligent but she’s watching Girlicious and Jersey Shore instead. Just when you think you know what she’s going to focus on in her essay, it turns and you realize her commentary is something much more serious and poignant.

I felt better after meeting with them. My day did not feel as wasted afterwards. We will be meeting  monthly and discussing the pieces that we are working on.

We met at the Pitfire Artisan Pizza and had yummy soup, salad and sandwiches. It’s a great place to hang out. A pitfire burns in the patio and the intersection (Magnolia & Lankershim) is  where Julia Roberts as Erin Brockovich crashed her car in the movie by the same name.

Check out their website: http://www.pitfirepizza.com/

