Loving Adele

A conversation with playwright Luis Alfaro prompted my purchase of Adele’s new album, “21.” I’m glad I did. The woman knows how to write AND sing!

The album is about all the emotions that run the gamut of a relationship. Anger, grief, defiance, sadness and ultimately forgiveness and healing. Below are some of my favorite lyrics.

Rolling in the Deep  (The epic song you’re probably hearing all over the radio. This is the angry song.)

“There’s a fire starting in my heart,
Reaching a fever pitch and it’s bring me out the dark,
The scars of your love remind me of us,
They keep me thinking that we almost had it all.”

Rumor Has It (How many times have we not thought or said these very words to a past love?)

“She, she ain’t real,
She ain’t gonna be able to love you like I will,
She is a stranger,
You and I have history,
Or don’t you remember?
Sure, she’s got it all,
But, baby, is that really what you want?”

Turning Tables (The defiant goodbye)

“Next time I’ll be braver,
I’ll be my own savior,
When the thunder calls for me,
Next time I’ll be braver,
I’ll be my own savior,
Standing on my own two feet”

I Found A Boy (The sweet revenge)

“I found a boy who loves me more
Than you ever did before
So stand beside the river you cry
And let yourself down
Look how you want me now that I don’t need you”

