Wealth Consciousness For The Artist

by Fanny Garcia, Editor

pLAywriting in the city

A few months ago I took part in a workshop in which I had to rate my career values in order of importance. I came up with the following list:

  1. Achievement: sense of accomplishment
  2. Meaningful work: relevant and purposeful job
  3. Wisdom: maturity, understanding, insight

All my top choices were existential and focused on my personal growth through my art. But where was my contribution to others? And more importantly, how was I going to finance this self-exploration and then eventually disseminate the work that emerges from it?

I quickly realized that I had not had a conversation with myself about job security, financial stability and the big green monster: MONEY. And why did I think of it as a big green monster anyways? Why was money my enemy and not my ally?

As I thought about this I heard a voice from the other side of the room begin to talk about the concept of wealth consciousness. The person speaking was Anthem Salgado and he’s quickly become my go-to person for all my questions about money and the artistic life.

Check out excerpts from our latest conversation:

Conversation #1: The Business Savvy Artist

Conversation #2: The Importance of Viral Currency

Conversation #3: Diversifying Your Income

Anthem Salgado is founder of Art Of Hustle – Where Art Meets Entrepreneurship. He is a marketing and management consultant for independent artists, creative entrepreneurs, non-profit organizations, and small businesses.  For more information go to Art Of Hustle or follow on Twitter @artofhustle

